• News
  • Korean Film News

Korean Film News

Actors Byun Yohan & Lee Sanghee, Appointed as the Jurors of ‘ACTORS PROJECT’ at the 2022 Seoul Independent Film Festival

Oct 31, 2022
  • Writer by Park Hyejin
  • View3165

Marking Its 5th Anniversary, the Project is to Discover New Actors in the Korean Independent Film World



The Seoul Independent Film Festival (SIFF) 2022 announced the jury members of the finals along with 24 finalists for the 5th ‘ACTORS PROJECT - 60-seconds Monologue Festival.’


ACTORS PROJECT, which began in 2018 with the suggestion of Actor Kwon Haehyo, was designed to discover new actors in the independent film world and encourage their activities. During the 9 days of its open recruitment, a total of 1,933 people applied for ACTORS PROJECT, which marks its 5th anniversary this year. The 24 actors selected through a high competition rate of 80:1 will participate in the free performance at the finals during the Seoul Independent Film Festival 2022. 


Along with Actor Kwon Haehyo and Actor Jo Yoonhee, the planners of ACTORS PROJECT, Actor Byun Yohan, who won the Independent Star Award at the 40th SIFF for Socialphobia, Actor Lee Sanghee, who won the Independent Star Award for Brother and Sister in the same year as Byun Yohan, Director Byun Youngjoo of Helpless, and Director/Actor Kim Doyoung who directed Kim Ji-young, born 1982 will also participate in the screening as the jury members. 


The previous jury members, including Actors Kim Sunyoung, Lee Heejoon, Lee Jungeun, Jo Woojin, and Directors Yang Ikjune, Yoon Gaeun, Min Kyudong, Jeon GowoonKang Hyoungchul, and participated in and supported the project. The actors discovered through the project include Hong Kyung of D.P. and A Distant Place, Oh Gyeonghwa of Hyena, and Ok Jayeon of The Uncanny Counter. With the appearance of new portraits every year, directors and movie fans are paying keen attention to the project. 


The final screening will be held at the Eyelove Art Center Art Hall on December 5th (Monday), and among the 24 finalists, the winner of the year will be selected through free acting with open monologues they perform. A total of 7 winners will be awarded a total of 7 million won in prize money and plaques. The Seoul Independent Film Festival, which marks its 48th anniversary this year, will be held for 9 days from December 1 (Thursday) to December 9 (Friday) under the slogan ‘The Art of Love.’ 

Any copying, republication or redistribution of KOFIC's content is prohibited without prior consent of KOFIC.
Related People Related Films Related Company
  • SHARE instagram linkedin logo