Expand your search auto-complete function


  1. Korean Film News
  2. KOFIC News
  4. Features
  5. Interview
  6. Location
  7. Post Call for Submissions
  • find news
  • find news searchKeyword
    find search button
See Your Schedule
please enter your email address
find search button
Ko - production in Busan
  • Young Korean directors present Directors` Cut Awards
  • Dec 30, 2005
  • The Directors' Cut Awards, a yearly ceremony in which young generation Korean directors vote on awards for filmmakers, was held in Apkujeong, Seoul on December 26. Launched by film director (and current KOFIC vice-chairperson) LEE Hyun-seung in 1998, the Directors' Cut awards this year polled 42 directors in their thirties and forties to determine awards in directing, acting, and producing. Best Director honors were presented to IM Sang-soo for his film The President's Last Bang, which screened in the Directors Fortnight section at Cannes in May. In an unusual development, the award for Best Actress was shared between LEE Young-ae of Sympathy for Lady Vengeance and JEON Do-yeon of YouAre My Sunshine, as the number of votes for the two actresses was split evenly. Best Actor was presented to JUNG Jae-young for his performances in Welcome to Dongmakgol and My Wedding Campaign. Other awards included Best New Director to JEONG Yun-cheol of Marathon, Best New Acting awards to actress JO Yi-jin of The Aggressives and actor HA Jeong-woo of The Unforgiven, and Best Producer to OH Jung-wan and LEE Eugene of You Are My Sunshine. In addition, a Special Acting Award was named in honor of the late actress LEE Eun-joo (The Scarlet Letter), who passed away in February 2005.
  • Any copying, republication or redistribution of KOFIC's content is prohibited without prior consent of KOFIC.
  • Comment