• Korean Film News

Korean Film News

ASSASSINATION Tops Blue Dragon Awards

Nov 27, 2015
  • Writerby Pierce Conran
  • View15038
Best Director for VETERAN’s RYOO Seung-wan
The Blue Dragon Film Awards held their 36th edition on Thursday evening, handing out their Grand Prize to CHOI Dong-hoon’s Colonial Era action film Assassination while LEE Joon-ik’s Joseon Era drama The Throne came away with five prizes, the most of the evening, and JK YOUN’s blockbuster Ode to My Father took home three. RYOO Seung-wan was awarded Best Director for his action-comedy Veteran, which was accepted on his behalf by his wife and producer KANG Hae-jung.
Two of The Throne’s prizes came in acting categories, with YOO Ah-in beating co-star (and last year’s winner) SONG Kang-ho in the Best Actor category and JEON Hye-jin winning Best Supporting Actress. Best Actress was won by LEE Jung-hyun for her part in the Korean Academy of Film Arts feature Alice In Earnestland and OH Dal-su triumphed in the Best Supporting Actor category for Ode to My Father, capping off a sensational year that also saw him appear in the smash hits Assassination and Veteran.
KIM Sung-je and SON A-ram were awarded the Best Screenplay prize for legal thriller The Unfair. RYU Seong-hee, last on stage after winning for The Front Line (2011), came away with Best Art Direction for Ode to My Father. YOUN’s hit drama also took the Audience Choice Award for Most Popular Film, which is given to the highest grossing film each year.
The Throne also picked up accolades for Best Music (BANG Jun-seok, who shared the same prize with LEE Byung-hoon for The Happy Life in 2007 and 2008’s Sunny), Best Cinematography (KIM Tae-kyeong, a former winner for Eungyo in 2012) and Best Lighting (HONG Seung-chul, also awarded for Eungyo). The prize for Best Editing went to YANG Jin-mo for The Beauty Inside and the Technical Award was won by CHO Sang-gyeong and SON Na-ri for their work on Assassination.
In the rookie categories, Set Me Free earned prizes for Best New Director (KIM Tae-yong) and Best New Actor (CHOI Woo-shik), while LEE Yoo-young came away with the Best New Actress prize for The Treacherous.
Director YOO Jae-hyun won the Best Short Film prize for his work The Photographers, and, lastly, the Popular Star Awards went to LEE Min-ho, PARK Bo-young, PARK Seo-jun and Seol Hyun.
Set up the Chosun Ilbo (newspaper) in 1963, the Blue Dragon Awards are considered, along with the Grand Bell Awards, to be among the most popular film awards ceremonies in Korea.
Any copying, republication or redistribution of KOFIC's content is prohibited without prior consent of KOFIC.
Related People Related Films Related Company Related News
1 2